Supported by


The pictures on this site are presented as quite small images. Click on any picture to see a bigger version.

Close book


Every year the residents of Waverton make an award to the best British debut novel published in the previous 12 months.


Short listed books announced

The books for the 2016/17 award are now available from Gwen and Wendy. The full list of books nominated this year can be found under BOOK LISTS.

The Short Listed books for 2016/17 can be found here and copies will be available in the village in early April.


Next Meetings

The most recent meeting was on 27th March 2017, when Dan Clements spoke about his book What Will Remain. See EVENTS AND MEETINGS for a report.

The June meeting, at which the voting will take place, has a new location and date: 7.30 on Friday 23rd June at Burley Hall, Waverton

A list of next year's meeting dates can be found under EVENTS AND MEETINGS


The 2015/16 winner

Voting for the 2015/16 winner took place at the meeting on Monday 27th June and the winner was John Donoghue for The Death's Head Chess Club. John was presented with his award at the Award Dinner on 21st October - see EVENTS AND MEETINGS


Children's Award winner

The winner of the 2015-16 Award is Kerr Thomson for his book The Sound of Whales. We hope that Kerr will come to Waverton and Capenhurst, to talk to the children who voted for him, later this year.


Sponsor news

We are delighted to announce that the Good Read's new sponsor is Illingworth Seddon, Financial Planners based in Tattenhall.




WGRA now has its very own blog! Go to to comment on the books you have been reading. You won't be the first.

All pictures on this site will now display a larger version if you click on them.