Waverton Good Read

Book award

Close book

The book lists

Every year since 2003 the residents of Waverton have made an award to the best British debut novel published in the previous 12 months. You can access all the nominated, long-listed and short-listed books in each year from this page.

Fun facts and opinions

We have collected some interesting facts and opinions over the past 15 years. Click here for a selection.

The winners

The last winner was (2016-17): Harry Parker for "Anatomy of a Soldier"

View all previous winners

Book selection criteria

In light of the many changes taking place in the publication of fiction, we amended our submission criteria in 2013, 2014 and 2016. The current criteria are:

Titles must be:

  1. Debut novels
  2. Written by British or Irish authors currently resident in the British Isles
  3. First published between 1st September 2016 and 31st August 2017. The publication dates refer to the paper version of a novel, not the electronic or online version.

Unfortunately we cannot accept:

  • Graphic novels
  • Novels that are produced only in online or electronic format
  • Novels where the author has directly or indirectly paid for the printing and publication costs
  • Novels where the author has previously published novel(s) under another name.