Waverton Good Read

Book award

Close book

Waverton Good Read Children's Award

The Good Read has extended its reach into primary schools by establishing, in 2010, the Waverton Good Read Children's Award. 9 to 11-year-olds in local schools have been invited to judge the best British debut children's novel of the year. The results for each year can be found by clicking on the appropriate year below.

Supported by:


Children's Award winner

The winner of the 2016-17 Award is Laurel Remington for her book "The Secret Cooking Club"

Laurel will come to Waverton in July to talk to the children who voted for her.

Secret Cooking Club
Laurel Remington

For more details about the Children's Award please see opposite and below, and/or contact Sue Buckley at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. See FAQ.

Sue Buckley announcing the result
Some young readers

The books selected for the 2016-17 Children's Award are listed on the 2016-17 award page.

Book selection criteria

The Children's Award is for debut novels for children by British or Irish authors normally resident in the British Isles.

For the 2017/18 award submitted novels must be published between 1st September 2016 and 31st August 2017, and be aimed at children in years 5/6 (ages 9-11 years). In common with the adult Award, we cannot currently accept graphic novels or picture books, nor novels that are produced only in online or electronic format, nor novels where the author has directly or indirectly paid for the printing and publication costs.

The key dates for the Children's Award for 2017-2018 are:

  • 30th October 2017 - Last date for submission.
  • November 2017 - Circulation to pupils in local primary schools
  • May 2018 - Reviews collated and winner announced
  • July 2018 - Winning author visits schools and receives his/her award (a cheque for £500 and a trophy)

The competition is run as follows: Year 5/6 pupils in local schools read the books and submit reviews. The children comment on the books and award a score between 0 and 10. These scores are averaged and the book with the highest score is declared the winner. The winning author visits the schools to receive her/his award.