Waverton Good Read

Book award

Close book

Waverton Good Read Children's Award 2012-2013

The list of books for the 2012-2013 Waverton Good Read Children's Award is opposite.

For more details about the Children's Award please contact Carol Archer at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


The winner of the 2012-13 Award is L A Jones for her novel "The Nightmare Factory"

Lucy visited Waverton and Saighton Primary Schools on Wednesday 10th July to receive her prize of £500 and to meet some of the young readers. Some pictures are shown below.

Lucy signing books
Lucy receiving her award from Waverton School Headmaster Simon Talbot
Lucy with Carol Archer

Entries for 2012-13

Barrowman, John and Carole Hollow Earth Buster Books
Crook, Mackenzie The Windvale Sprites Faber & Faber
Dennis, H L The Secret Breakers - The Power of Three Hodder Children's
Dibben, Damien The History Keepers Doubleday
Harrold, A F Fizzlebert Stump, the boy who ran away from the circus (and joined the library) Bloomsbury
Howard, Paul Welcome to Bugville Egmont
Jones, L A The Nightmare Factory Orchard Books
Larwood, Kieran Freaks Chicken House
Lean, Sarah A Dog Called Homeless Harper Collins
Mason, Conrad The Demon's Watch David Fickling
Norton, Jeff Metawars - Fight for the Future Orchard Books
O'Brien, Claire Cordelia Codd - Not Just the Blues Orchard Books
Osborne, William Hitler's Angel Chicken House
Peters, Helen The Secret Hen House Theatre Nosy Crow
Rowden, Siobhan The Curse of Bogle's Beard Scholastic
Shirley, Jan Harry Bone-Thief Ragged Bear Publishing
Siggins, Gerard Rugby Spirit O'Brien Press