Waverton Good Read

Book award

Close book

The list of books nominated for the 2017-18 Award is now available here

The books submitted for the 2017-18 Children's Award are now available here

The pictures on this site are presented as quite small images. Click on any picture to see a bigger version.

Supported by:


2016/17 Winners announced

The winner, decided by ballot at the meeting on 23rd June, is Harry Parker for his novel "Anatomy of a Soldier"

View full list of nominations for 2016-17

View short listed books for 2016-17

Children's Award winner

The winner of the 2016-17 Children's Award is Laurel Remington for her book "The Secret Cooking Club"


Welcome to the new web site for the Waverton Good Read Award. You can now search the site and submit your review on-line. Enjoy a host of other minor improvements.

Every year the residents of Waverton make an award to the best British debut novel published in the previous 12 months.

Events and meetings

The award dinner for Harry Parker was held on Friday 20th October 2017 at Eaton Golf Club in Waverton. A report and some pictures can be found under events and meetings.

Next Meetings

The schedule of speaker dates for next year (2017/18) is:

  • Tues 19 Sept 2017 - The speaker was Rose McGinty, author of "Electric Souk". See report under Events
  • Tues 28 Nov 2017 - The speaker was Annabelle Thorpe, author of last year's runner-up "The People We Were Before"
  • Tues 16 Jan 2018 - (Note new date) Long listing meeting. The speaker will be Keith Stuart, author of "A Boy Made of Blocks" which deals with autism and Minecraft!
  • Tues 27 Mar 2018 - Short listing meeting. The speaker is to be announced
  • Thur 28 June 2018 - (Note new date - not a Tuesday) Voting meeting. The speaker is to be announced

Meetings are at 7.30pm in Burley Hall, Old Waverton. All are welcome: £3 on the door.